Right Steps & Poui Trees

“All Our Agents Are Busy, But Please Stay on the Line…”

6 Comments

I don’t know about you, but I am fed up with the amount of time I seem to spend waiting on the phone to talk with customer service agents. Listening all the time to company jingles, promos for new services, or messages repeated ad nauseam telling me that I am a valued customer but no-one can talk to me just yet. Sometimes I’ve said in frustration that in the time I spend waiting on the phone, I could actually go to the company office to talk to someone!

One morning last week, that’s exactly what happened. I had gone to the bank to conduct a transaction, which I was able to do fairly quickly. I then headed to an office to carry out some business, which depended on the transaction I had just completed at the bank. While there, I realised that there was one detail I needed to clarify with the bank, before going ahead with what I needed to do at the office. So I decided to call the bank.

In the Yellow Pages, the numbers of the individual bank branches are no longer listed, only a central Customer Service number. I called it, and after pressing the various buttons as directed by the automated voice, I was on hold waiting , listening to the message telling me that all their customer service agents were busy, but that I would be dealt with as soon as one was available.

After waiting a while and getting more frustrated by the minute, I decided to get back into my car and drive back to the bank. I drove all the way back to the bank, with the earbud in my ear, listening to the automated message. I was actually walking through the parking lot when an agent finally answered. I informed him that I no longer needed his services, as I had driven back to the bank while waiting.

There is something wrong with your customer service model if it takes the same length of time for a customer to drive to your bank as it does for a customer service agent to come on line. Don’t you agree? If yes, press 1; if no press 2….

 

Author: rightpouitree

Navigating the real and virtual worlds and sometimes writing about what I observe...

6 thoughts on ““All Our Agents Are Busy, But Please Stay on the Line…”

  1. I’m no defender of poor customer service, but what you may be witnessing is the result of poor SERVICE, with which customer service cannot cope. That seems to be more the case with Jamaica’s telecoms companies, where the volume and nature of complaints/issues outweighs the abilities of customer service reps.

    The converse to your experience is when one gets through very quickly only to be then kept in a loop of Q&A that eventually ends up nowhere (at its worst, a US utility whose CS were not working over Thanksgiving, but their phone prompts took you through the gamut of Q&A only to end with “We are closed until…” (about 5-10 minutes worth of time wasted)
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I often feel that the customer service agents have to deal with irate and frustrated customers, when it should be folks higher up the line having to deal with them, given that it’s their decisions that have led to problems with service! The telecoms problems are certainly a case in point!
      Getting caught in the automated voicemail loop is a nightmare! One of the ones I hate is a compulsory introductory message which you are forced to listen to before the menu of options come up!

      Like

  2. The bottom line is that they need to hire more people, especially at their known peak call times. But no one wants to spend the money to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The bottom line is that they need to hire more people, especially at their peak call times. But no one wants to spend the money to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. True, more staff during peak call times would go a long way to alleviating the problem. Reluctance to spend more for this seems short-sighted, given the amount of customer dissatisfaction it generates. But maybe they don’t see significant fall off in customer numbers to give them cause to improve!

    Like