Right Steps & Poui Trees

Poor Man’s Orchid Plays with the Light

The play of light on plants. On trees, on leaves, on flowers.

IMG_9500[1]

I love taking photos of sunlight on flowers.

IMG_9514[1]

Poor Man’s Orchid.

IMG_9471[1]

Bauhinia purpurea

IMG_9563[1]

The scientific name ‘Bauhinia’ comes from two Swiss-French botanist brothers, Johann and Gaspard Bauhin. Which I didn’t know before.

IMG_9525[1]

Trees in flower may already show numerous pods.  Elongated dehiscent pods.  Dehiscent: opening spontaneously to release seeds or pollen.

The Poor Man’s Orchid tree in my garden fell sideways in one of the hurricanes. Gilbert, I think. But decades later, askew, it still flourishes.

IMG_9485[1]

Author: rightpouitree

Navigating the real and virtual worlds and sometimes writing about what I observe...

Comments are closed.