Right Steps & Poui Trees

350 Words or Less: Hurricane Gilbert, September 12, 1988

2 Comments

It’s 28 years since Hurricane Gilbert made its way from east to west across Jamaica, a direct hit if there ever was one.

noaa-map-of-gilbert-track

I remember it well. As a child, I longed to experience a “proper” hurricane. Gilbert fulfilled that childhood wish and though I retain a fascination with weather phenomena, I have no desire to experience anything like it ever again.

Each year on September 12, there is some acknowledgement of Hurricane Gilbert’s landfall in Jamaica. This morning I heard Lloyd Lovindeer’s hit song from that time, “Wild Gilbert”, a welcome comic take on events, generating much-needed laughter at the time.wild-gilbert-lovindeer

This evening, NOAA tweeted about Gilbert, which remains one of the strongest Atlantic hurricanes on record.noaa-hurricane-gilbert-tweet-12-9-16I have very clear memories from that time. I remember the first tree to fall in our garden, the massive guinep tree that was completely uprooted very early in the storm:gilbert-1gilbert-2

I remember letting the dogs out during the eye of the storm, and walking around in the garden, seeing the damage already done. It was quite still and the sky was blue. And then the incredible intensity of the winds when they returned, from the opposite direction. By nightfall, the sustained winds had passed, but every so often there was a strong gust and I remember lying in bed, unable to sleep, with a terrible headache, worrying about how some family members had fared.

I don’t have many pictures from that time. This one shows the house next door with much of its roof gone. The massive metal beams that held that roof had been bent back like plasticine, a mental image that forever represents for me the power of the winds during the hurricane.gilbert-3

After Hurricane Gilbert, we were without water for some time and without electricity for many weeks. We, like so many others, refined the art of cooking bully beef and savoured the pleasure of occasional cold drinks.

It’s a generation ago now and there are probably many Jamaican children wishing to experience a “proper” hurricane. And there are those of us who’ve experienced one, saying “No, thank you!”hurricane-gilbert-eye-over-jamaica-12-9-88

 

 

 

Author: rightpouitree

Navigating the real and virtual worlds and sometimes writing about what I observe...

2 thoughts on “350 Words or Less: Hurricane Gilbert, September 12, 1988

  1. Thanks for sharing. My mother was pregnant with me when Gilbert hit. Now and then my father will share a story. One was of a pregnant, homeless young woman who he saw a day before downtown, close to his (then) church, and when he went to look for her to bring her some food a day or two after, he learned that she was found dead in an abandoned, roofless building. It was a few months before my time, yet it feels ingrained in my consciousness.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comments! How tragic and sad! She would have been one of the 45 people who died as a result of Gilbert hitting Jamaica. Like your mother, I was pregnant at the time of Gilbert and my elder daughter was born in December. I remember sharing stories with the mothers of her classmates in school of our experiences of being pregnant or having young babies during that time.

      Like