Right Steps & Poui Trees

350 Words Or Less: Why I Prefer Lunar Eclipses

2 Comments

I just wasn’t feeling the excitement about the solar eclipse, which is unusual for me, as I really do enjoy these scientific, nerdy things. So I didn’t do any preparation for it. This morning, however, I heard some discussion on the radio and I thought, okay, let me take a look. I checked online for times…

Then, having been reminded of the dangers of looking directly at the sun during the eclipse, I thought about the various methods of viewing without damaging my eyes. When I was a child, they used to say you could look through a photo negative, but in these days of digital photography, that was not an easy option. I took a pan of water out into the front yard and tried to look at the sun’s shadow in it, but that wasn’t successful.

P1200618

Then I used two index cards, one with a pinhole in it. Success! My daughter Kimberley was kind enough to come and hold the cards for me, while I took photos:solar eclipse 21-8-17 aAnd there on the lower card was the shadow of the partially covered sun:P1200616

Since we had only a partial eclipse, we didn’t have complete darkness, but it did get noticeably less bright. My dogs did act strangely, but that was because they didn’t know why I was lugging a pan of water around the yard and not letting them drink from it.

I prefer lunar eclipses. You don’t have to worry about searing your retinas by looking up at the eclipse. You don’t have to do any special preparation or acquire or construct any special equipment. You just go out at the right time and stare up at the night sky. And you can easily take photos of the moon. Simplicity.

IMG_7165

 

Author: rightpouitree

Navigating the real and virtual worlds and sometimes writing about what I observe...

2 thoughts on “350 Words Or Less: Why I Prefer Lunar Eclipses

  1. Bway! Typical Jamaican: both resilience and what a heap a trouble to look at the moon covering the sun, than when the sun covering the moon at night 🙂 I tried the colander method, and the iPhone selfie route, both of which offered good images and new options going forward.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t heard of the iPhone selfie option! 🙂

    Like