Right Steps & Poui Trees

Two Birds Today: Baldpate & Nightingale

2 Comments

When I sit on my roof in the mornings, I share space with many birds. Last year I thought about documenting all those I see in our garden, but haven’t really done much about it since. And maybe I will never do anything in a remotely organised fashion, not being a remotely organised person. But today, here are photos of two types of birds I frequently see in the garden.

P1200847This is a Jamaican Baldpate, aka White-crowned Pigeon, aka Columba leucocephala. It paid no attention to me, as it perched and fed while I drank my cup of tea.P1200990 (2)And perched on the edge of the roof is a Jamaican Nightingale, aka Northern Mockingbird, aka Mimus polyglottos. These are such brave and feisty little birds, which I’ve seen taking on hawks to drive them away from their nesting areas.

Just two of the birds I saw from my roof this morning…P1200942

Author: rightpouitree

Navigating the real and virtual worlds and sometimes writing about what I observe...

2 thoughts on “Two Birds Today: Baldpate & Nightingale

  1. Beautiful pics and thanks for your narrative. Just loved reading it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

